Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (January)

The different phases of life expose us to new experiences, people, and places. These shape our evolution, and we often find our current environment, experiences, and relationships no longer make sense. It is time to release that which no longer serves us. One way to do this is to use the energy of each month as a guide.

January

January is represented by the number 1. The energy of 1 relates to will, independence, determination, stubbornness, entrepreneurship, new beginnings, or isolation. These might include asserting your will, believing in yourself, entrepreneurial endeavors, or self-sabotage stemming from stubbornness. Are you letting someone else control you instead of asserting your own will? Are you holding onto ideas you do not want to develop because they no longer interest you? Do you have thoughts or beliefs that serve no purpose but you hold onto out of stubbornness? Does your stubbornness get in the way of being vulnerable? What is keeping you from beginning something new? Are you spending too much time alone?

Being independent is a good thing, but too much independence can lead to isolation, which has been proven to shorten lifespan. I chose the energy of January to let go of my overly independent behavior. I needed to learn to not be an island, feeling alone and isolated, driven by stubborn determination. My willpower had always served me well, but it also meant I was always working or care taking. These behaviors were not supporting the life I envisioned, so January was dedicated to creating new habits when it came to getting things done, asking for help, helping others, and working. I wanted to be comfortable asking for help, and know that accepting it did not mean I was giving up my independence.

New behaviors take time to become habits. This meant I consciously needed to monitor mine. It was not natural for me to ask for help, so I had to be mindful of situations where I could ask for assistance. My lifelong pattern made it uncomfortable for me to accept help, so I also had to watch my reaction. It felt awkward at first, but with time it became more comfortable.

In addition, when I said “yes” to helping someone or taking on tasks, I had to stop and consider whether I was agreeing out of habit, because I really wanted to, or because it was necessary. After staying conscious of my decisions for awhile, I found it easier to say “no.”

The benefits have far outweighed the difficulty of learning to ask for help and have not diminished my independence.

In future journal entries, I will discuss using the energy of each month to release people, places, and things that no longer serve you.

9 thoughts on “Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (January)

  1. Pingback: Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (October, November, December) – Spiritual Imprint

  2. Pingback: Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (September) – Spiritual Imprint

  3. Pingback: Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (August) – Spiritual Imprint

  4. Pingback: Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (July) – Spiritual Imprint

  5. Pingback: Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (June) – Spiritual Imprint

  6. Pingback: Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (May) – Spiritual Imprint

  7. Pingback: Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (April) – Spiritual Imprint

  8. Pingback: Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (March) – Spiritual Imprint

  9. Pingback: Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (February) – Spiritual Imprint

Leave a Reply

