Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (March)

Many of us regularly practice setting goals. In addition, we can benefit by releasing things that no longer serve us. This series, Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go, addresses using each month’s energy as a guide to letting go.

Refer to my other journal entries for more information:

January – releasing issues related to will, independence, determination, stubbornness, entrepreneurship, new beginnings, or isolation

February – releasing things related to communication, collaboration, cooperation, partnerships, and relationships

March

March is represented by the number 3. The energy of 3 relates to creativity, imagination, and expression. Creativity can be expressed in many forms, such as writing, painting, music, knitting, dancing, or drawing. Do you stifle your creativity? Have you written songs or poems but are afraid to share them?

Imagination includes new ideas, innovations, and fantasy. Do you find time for innovation? Are you afraid to engage in healthy fantasizing, such as dreaming about your future?

Expression can be explaining oneself or ones ideas, public speaking, articulation, or expression through art or music. Do you speak up when you need to? Are you a good teacher but are concerned about speaking to a group? Do you stop yourself from dancing because you are afraid of being judged?

In March, I chose to let go of my fear of creating things that appeared to have no purpose. I had creative ideas all the time—everything from watercolor projects to Serenity Sacks. However, I talked myself out of actually doing projects if I could not see a use for them. I didn’t paint because I already had a number of my painting hanging on the wall and stored in my closet. I didn’t knit because I was concerned I needed a specific project for a specific purpose instead of just enjoying the knitting. (So what if I just ripped it all out?) I stopped writing my second novel because someone gave me a nasty review of my first novel. (Did I not see all the good reviews?)

To be successful at this giveaway, I had to counteract the negative self talk that stopped me from moving forward. I started by making a list of all the creative things I enjoyed: writing, knitting, singing, painting, sewing, drawing. Then I picked one I had talked myself out of doing. My selection was knitting. Regardless of what my mind kept telling me about not having a purpose for knitting, I consciously chose to make a blanket. How harmful could an extra blanket be?! I settled on a design, bought the yarn, and started knitting. I didn’t use a pattern, but instead allowed creativity to be in charge. I hadn’t knit in a long time, and had forgotten how relaxing and meditative it could be.

Humorously, the blanket ended up large enough for a queen-size bed. (It decorates the fold out couch in the guest room.) I probably should have at least consulted a pattern, but it had the intended purpose. The positive experience prompted me to take action on another idea I had let linger. The idea was to create bags based on a theme. The theme would be the bag’s purpose and intention—its “medicine.” This idea grew into a business, Serenity Sacks.

In the next few entries, I will cover the energy of the remaining months and how to use it to release people and things no longer serving you.

7 thoughts on “Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (March)

  1. Pingback: Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (October, November, December) – Spiritual Imprint

  2. Pingback: Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (September) – Spiritual Imprint

  3. Pingback: Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (August) – Spiritual Imprint

  4. Pingback: Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (July) – Spiritual Imprint

  5. Pingback: Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (June) – Spiritual Imprint

  6. Pingback: Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (May) – Spiritual Imprint

  7. Pingback: Using Seasonal Energy to Let Go (April) – Spiritual Imprint

Leave a Reply

