Confident or Arrogant?

As I enter a new phase of my life, I find my confidence level to be off the charts. My newfound freedom has manifested in the release of old, self-protecting habits that no longer serve me. I don’t need to hide, be complacent, dumb down my joy, quell my energy, deny my enthusiasm, or any other number of containment behaviors. This release has led to a boost of confidence I have not experienced in a very, very long time—if ever. However, it has also resulted in a need to look deeply at my actions in order to understand when does confidence become arrogance?

To discern the differences between confidence and arrogance, I created the following comparison chart. Although not all of these are true all the time, I find these characteristics helpful in determining the fine line distinguishing whether I or someone else is confident or arrogant.

Confident BehaviorsArrogant Behaviors
Not worried about what others thinkNeed to be seen (often need to be the center of attention)
Do not need reassurance from others / belief in selfThrive on assurance from others / have false or unrealistic view of oneself
Don’t need to be right or in chargeDominant
Not threatened by other points of view / don’t need to be rightNot willing to hear or accept other points of view /believe (or act) as if your way is the only or right way
Positive energyNegative energy
Okay being aloneLonely
FulfilledLacking / hollow
SelflessSelfish
CenteredNot centered / lost
Real / authentic selfActing / not authentic self
Pulls others inPushes others away
Comparison Between Confidence and Arrogance

I’m sure there are other traits and behaviors defining the fine line between confidence and arrogance, but this is a reasonable start to keep my own behavior in check.

Leave a comment